Types of Driving Licences UK

A driver's licence is generally termed as a legal authorization, or it is generally the official document that usually confirms such authorization which allows a specific individual to operate one or more types of vehicles on a public road, which generally includes motorcycles, cars, lorries, or buses.

Driving is a lot more than just driving, it requires a proper process that is to be followed to gain the licence and then drive that particular vehicle legally as well as safely. With this, you will come to know the deeper concepts relating to what are the types of driving licences UK that are commonly used to drive different types of vehicles.

There are many types of driving licences UK that allow a person to operate various types of vehicles. There are some licences that allow you to drive more than one type of vehicle. As a result, knowing everything about the type of licence you're working on and what licence permits you to drive any particular vehicle is critical. You will gain a better understanding of the  types of driving licences UK that are widely used to operate various types of vehicles.

Importance of Types of Driving Licences

The driving licence is an important document because it allows residents to drive and this document sometimes also serves as a confirmation of identity. People who lose their driver's licence can readily obtain a duplicate from the authorities where you can manage things in a better way. There are various types of driving licences UK that generally assist you to drive different vehicles as per your requirement and expertise. This is important to be managed in a better way to have.

Types of Driving Licences

AM Licence

The licence usually covers Mopeds and other two or three-wheel vehicles. Recently it is seen that as per the updates in this type of licence it is important to also include Light Quadricycles into it. 

A1 Licence

With this, you can ride a light motorcycle having an engine size of 125 cc and a power output that is up to 11kw (14.6bhp).

A2 Licence

A2 licence can assist you to ride a motorcycle with a power output that should not generally exceed 35 kW and also additionally a power/weight ratio that should not exceed 0.2 kW/kg.

A Licence

It is generally a full motorcycle licence, which lets you ride bikes with power exceeding 35 kW.

B Licence

B licence is the licence that permits you to drive a motor vehicle having a maximum weight of 3,500kg.

B Auto Licence

Generally, it is seen that the Category B auto licence has almost similar conditions to that of the conditions category B licence. These category vehicles generally use an automatic transmission.

B+E Licence

This licence can allow you to drive a combination of a category B motor vehicle with a trailer or a semi-trailer.

C1 Licence

C1 licence   allowing you to drive the vehicles that have a weight between 3,500 and 7,500kg which has an option of a trailer of weight that is almost equal to or more than 750 kg. The age limit for getting the licence for this type of vehicle is 18 years.

C1+E Licence

This is the licence that is assisting you to drive vehicles which are having a trailer that is over 750kg weight. Also in general terms, it is said that the combined weight of both should not be more than the 12,000kg weight.

C Licence

You can drive Heavy Goods Vehicles with a category C licence that is generally weighing over 3,500kg (with an additional trailer of up to 750kg).

C+E Licence

The C+E licence   generally permits you to drive heavy and rigid vehicles (HGVs) with a trailer weighing more than 750kg.

D1 Licence

With D1 licence   you can drive mini buses which are usually vehicles that do not have more than 16 passenger seats and are generally of the maximum length of 8 metres.

D1+E Licence

This entitlement licence lets you drive the Category D1 minibus with an additional trailer that weighs up to 750kg (this is the maximum weight).

D Licence

Cat D licence   usually assists you in driving any bus which can sustain more than 8 passenger seats, with an additional option for a trailer whose weight is equal to or less than 750kg.

D+E Licence

With this type of licence you can drive any bus or coach with a trailer weighing more than 750kg.

G Licence

G licence generally permits you to drive road rollers that can be even steam or diesel-driven.

F Licence

The licence lets you drive various agricultural tractors, but also these types of vehicles can also be driven on a category B licence.

K Licence

It is a type of driving licence UK that usually helps you to drive a ride-on mowing machine or even a pedestrian-controlled vehicle legally on public roads.

H Licence

This is the licence type that is used for civilian tracked vehicles and former military vehicles.


All in all, it is clear that there are various types of driving licences UK but one should wisely choose the things to have better driving experiences so far. A better understanding of the initial things better will be the future outcomes both in terms of understanding as well as the safety that is a must requirement when driving vehicles legally on public roads.  Safety is the aspect that is not just related to the self-safety of the person but when an individual is driving on public roads then it is important to first go through the various aspects including the safety of fellow drivers, pedestrians, etc.

Therefore driving is a big concept that generally revolves around the basic safety for everyone, as well as the need for proper documentation so that things go on fluently in every respect. With this, all the concepts that usually make up the types of driving licences UK are made clear as per the trending concepts and updates of the transportation industry.

Also Read: How much do HGV Drivers Earn Per Hour 

Also Read: How to become an HGV Class 1 Driver

Courses you may like:

Your Cart